wiki/ documentation/ Services

Services

In addition to the computers we provide for your use, several additional services are available to you.

Service Passwords

Services that require you to authenticate ask for you password. For some of those services like OpenVPN and email it is very common to use the save password function of your VPN or email client. This can be a security risk since very often that software uses weak or no encryption and a compromised password not only allows acces to that one service but to all of your files and services.

Therefore we strongly recommend setting separate passwords for those services:

In all those cases you will be asked for your main account password before any access or change is made. When a service password is set, access to that service is possible via your main account password and the service password for that service. If you should lose a password, please remember that changing your main account password does not change any service passwords. You will need to change or remove them separately.

Remote Login

All our machines have SSH enabled. You can login from Linux with the command ssh yourloginname@hostname. To login from a Windows system you'll need to install a SSH-Client, e.g. Putty.

putty login window

On some hosts (faui00a, faui00h, faui06a, faui06h, faui06, faui0sr0, ircbox) SSH additionally listens on port 443 in order to make connecting from networks with restrictive firewalls easier.

The hosts faui00*, faui06* and all the terminal servers (faui0sr0, faui06, ircbox) are always online, all others are shut down during the nights (20:00 - 08:00), on weekends, and during the term holidays.

It is possible to run graphical applications remotely via tools such as xpra.

Authenticating hosts

There is a list of all SSH host keys to verify the authenticity of the connection.

Alternatively, if you're using OpenSSH (you probably are unless you're on Windows), you can trust our SSH certificate authority by adding the following (quite long) line to your ~/.ssh/known_hosts file:

@cert-authority faui0*.cs.fau.de,faui0*.informatik.uni-erlangen.de,ircbox.cs.fau.de,ircbox.informatik.uni-erlangen.de ssh-rsa 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 problems@cip.cs.fau.de

Since all our host keys are signed by this CA, you then shouldn't ever have to verify one of our hosts again.

We also publish fingerprints in SSHFP DNS records. Trusting these is only secure if have a trustworthy DNSSEC-validating DNS resolver and the network between you and said resolver is equally trustworthy. Usually this means you're running your own local resolver. Telling your ssh client to trust these records is left as an exercise in reading man pages.

GitLab

We offer a local instance of the git-based collaboration platform GitLab.

gitweb is also still available, but should not be used for new projects.

OpenVPN

An OpenVPN tunnel gateway is provided for encrypted remote access to the university network. OpenVPN client software is available for all common operating systems like Linux (available in the software repository of all major distributions), MacOS X (Tunnelblick) and Windows.

To use OpenVPN, download the following configuration file and save it into the configuration directory of OpenVPN, usually located in /etc/openvpn. If you are using a graphical user interface for OpenVPN, pass this file at the appropriate place instead.

Please set a separate service password for OpenVPN via cip-set-password -s vpn as described above.

Homepage

Files in the directory ~/.www/ are exported at the web address https://wwwcip.informatik.uni-erlangen.de/~yourloginname. For this to work the user www must have access to these file, which can be achieved by executing the command setfacl -m u:www:rx ~ ~/.www.

These pages are publicly available!

Commercial usage of any kind, such as advertisement for a company, endorsement of commercial software etc. is prohibited!

Mail

Every user has an email address <loginname>@cip.cs.fau.de.

You can forward incoming mail to another address by writing the desired destination into the file ~/.forward. The change is active immediately.

In order to access your mail via IMAP, first you have to run a command like mkdir -p ~/Maildir/{cur,new,tmp} && chmod 700 ~/Maildir/{,cur,new,tmp} to create and secure your maildir. Then write a line containing only the characters ~/Maildir into the file ~/.forward. This redirects incoming mail to the directory Maildir in your home, where the IMAP server is looking for it. Now you can point your mail client to port 993 on cippop.informatik.uni-erlangen.de. You can set a password using the commandcip-set-password -s mail or use your existing login password.

wiki/ documentation/ Dienste

Dienste

Zusätzlich zu den Rechnerarbeitsplätzen stellen wir verschiedene ergänzende Dienste zur Verfügung.

Passwörter für Dienste

Dienste, die eine Authentifizierung erfordern fragen normalerweise nach deinem Passwort. Bei einigen Diensten wie beispielsweise OpenVPN oder Email ist es üblich, die Passwort speichern-Funktion der VPN- oder Email-Software zu benutzen. Dies kann ein Sicherheitsrisiko sein, da sehr oft nur schwache oder gar keine Verschlüsselung zum Speichern der Passwörter verwendet wird. Verlorene Passwörter erlauben nicht nur den Zugriff auf den betreffenden Dienst sondern auch auf alle deine anderen Dateien und Dienste.

Daher empfehlen wir dringend separate Passwörter für diese Dienste zu setzen:

In allen diesen Fällen wirst du nach deinem Haupt-Passwort für deinen Zugang gefragt werden bevor irgendeine Änderung oder ein Zugriff durchgeführt wird. Ist ein Passwort für einen Dienst gesetzt, so ist der Zugriff auf diesen Dienst mit deinem normalen, Haupt-Passwort und mit dem Dienst-Passwort für diesen Dienst zugänglich. Solltest du eines deiner Passwörter verlieren, beachte bitte, dass die Änderung deines Haupt-Passworts keine Dienst-Passwörter ändert. Diese musst du wenn nötig separat neu setzen oder entfernen.

Login von außen

Alle unsere Rechner haben SSH aktiviert. Du kannst dich bei Linux mit dem Kommando ssh deinlogin@hostname einloggen. Um dich von einem Windows System einzuloggen musst du einen SSH-Client installieren, z.B. Putty.

putty login window

Auf einigen Rechnern (faui00a, faui00h, faui06a, faui06h, faui06, faui0sr0, ircbox) läuft SSH zusätzlich auf Port 443, um Verbindungen aus Netzwerken mit restriktiven Firewalls zu vereinfachen.

Die Hosts faui00*, faui06* und die Terminal-Server (faui0sr0, faui06, ircbox) sind immer online, alle anderen werden nachts (20:00 - 08:00), sowie am Wochenende und während der vorlesungsfreien Zeit abgeschaltet.

Auch graphische Anwendungen können von außen betrieben werden, z.B. mittels xpra.

Hosts authentifizieren

Es gibt eine Übersicht aller SSH-Host-Keys, um die Authentizität der Gegenseite zu überprüfen.

Alternativ kannst du, falls du OpenSSH verwendest (wenn du kein Windows nutzt tust du das vermutlich), unserer SSH-Zertifikatsauthorität vertrauen, indem du die folgende (ziemlich lange) Zeile in der Datei ~/.ssh/known_hosts hinzufügst:

@cert-authority faui0*.cs.fau.de,faui0*.informatik.uni-erlangen.de,ircbox.cs.fau.de,ircbox.informatik.uni-erlangen.de ssh-rsa AAAAB3NzaC1yc2EAAAADAQABAAACAQDKVGAWUYpKjaqGyzhcixy8f7wEK8T9gbqOPHmqFiYheGe4Ie0Yf5KWVLCKjcFxAZwxkHceeFjBOkymZB9mH8tvZ9KSacg69kc2oa7vPILbpMfIdJ8lka11jL8iSC+U4MhWgBdyOVHtVXUBFZOwC4eBo47llhYDow6TlNB6Y0hda79Bz3wZM+mvc0XFNCAwy+SKRjb7ySkPd8tIt2cIINC9+V5fZzPE3NB/LmvWyQFZNN4ijHm38zm7YHFViRlCKyhecxx0bqyMvYoBmGLGT33jUgml125cidBvrWnDNuhK59YYQ2oun/SRYqfJD0ub/G7BEp3SrmZXiWCbp07Q9ytmvxfl4WDFHBVXjWcJe55MsGO5usg6z18fkAp/6Pb4QYpbd1vNgdlVeYCtYB3xzNcb8GPwFiplg14zsK2tdcr36+k0CBQh/68ujv2RpKdrddKGDfqQrz9r6S1yg7sBdkjvBHxTu+M6iKtnryY9wlC/vSGS45fbl2JkNQRX7PUsZ2vGc9GXmJWbie3Fy0NES1IRXo4f/AuMsSPe6S/PdCvXof6bnEj8pjAK//ZdYeLhZ8QKFb7lCxJ8IClYeKcmDHEfkQ5UZv47K4j5Q7dvPyPhnK27i7qrkfm77NS7OOdrmOvDN3okzyc5+C7n0suZG3kbXvLZkL/TdaZrj+fRfEjL1w== problems@cip.cs.fau.de

Da wir all unsere Host-Keys signieren solltest du damit nie wieder die Authentizität für einen unserer Hosts bestätigen müssen.

Wir veröffentlichen die Fingerprints unserer Hosts ebenfalls in SSHFP DNS-Einträgen. Diesen zu vertrauen ist nur sicher, falls der DNS-Resolver deines Systems DNSSEC validiert und, genauso wie das Netz über das du mit ihm redest, vertrauenswürdig ist. Üblicherweise heisst das, dass du selber einen lokalen Resolver betreibst. Wie du deinem SSH-Client mitteilst, diesen DNS-Einträgen zu vertrauen, findest du in den relevanten Man-Pages.

GitLab

Wir betrieben eine lokale Instanz von der git-basierten Kollaborationsplatform GitLab.

gitweb ist auch noch verfügbar, sollte jedoch nicht für neue Projekte verwendet werden.

OpenVPN

Für verschlüsselten Zugang von ausserhalb auf das Universitäts-Netzwerk steht ein OpenVPN-Tunnelzugang zur Verfügung. OpenVPN Zugangssoftware gibt es für alle gebräuchlichen Betriebssysteme wie Linux (über das Softwarepaketsystem aller grossen Distributionen), MacOS X (Tunnelblick) und Windows.

Lade zur Benutzung folgende Konfigurationsdatei herunter und speichere diese im Konfigurationsverzeichnis von OpenVPN, normalerweise /etc/openvpn. Wenn du eine graphische Oberfläche verwendest, übergib die Datei an der passenden Stelle.

Bitte setze ein abweichendes Dienstepasswort fuer OpenVPN mittels cip-set-password -s vpn wie oben beschrieben.

Homepage

Im Verzeichnis ~/.www/ befindliche Dateien werden unter https://wwwcip.informatik.uni-erlangen.de/~deinloginname ins Web exportiert. Dazu muss der Nutzer www Zugriffsrechte auf diese Dateien haben, was beispielsweise durch den Befehl setfacl -m u:www:rx ~ ~/.www erreicht werden kann.

Diese Seiten sind öffentlich abrufbar!

Kommerzielle Nutzung in jeglicher Hinsicht, z.B. Werbung für die eigene Firma, Anpriesen von kommerzieller Software usw. ist untersagt!

Mail

Jeder Nutzer ist per E-Mail erreichbar unter <loginname>@cip.cs.fau.de.

Du kannst eingehende Mails an eine andere Adresse weiterleiten, indem du die gewünschte Zieladresse in die Datei ~/.forward schreibst. Diese Änderung ist sofort aktiv.

Um mittels IMAP auf deine Mails zuzugreifen musst du zuerst einen Befehl wie mkdir -p ~/Maildir/{cur,new,tmp} && chmod 700 ~/Maildir/{,cur,new,tmp} ausführen, um die benötigten Verzeichnisse anzulegen und vor fremden Zugriff zu sichern. Dann schreibst du eine Zeile die nur die Zeichen ~/Maildir enthält in die Datei ~/.forward, damit deine Mails in dem vom IMAP-Server erwarteten Verzeichnis landen. Nun kann dein Mail-Programm auf Port 993 auf dem Host cippop.informatik.uni-erlangen.de deine Mails abholen. Du kannst mit dem Befehl cip-set-password -s mail ein eigenes Passwort setzen oder dein übliches Login-Passwort verwenden.