wiki/ cipPools/ CIP-Pool Rules and Regulations

CIP-Pool Rules and Regulations

The computer rooms’ rules and regulations are not there to spoil anyone's fun. We have a large number of students all using the same facilities, so it is important that there are some procedures in place, which help to maintain the smooth running of the computer rooms. Computers are provided for use in support of approved course work, and should be treated as a shared work tool, rather than a means of passing the time between classes.

All users must behave in a manner that respects their fellow students, staff and equipment. In addition to the normal university regulations, the following points must be obeyed:

No Food or Drinks

Eating and drinking is not allowed in the CIP-Pools in order to keep keyboards, mice and tables as clean as possible and to prevent damage. Except: Water.

Wash your hands and do not touch the monitors

For hygienic reasons and in order to keep the keyboards and mice clean, please wash your hands before working on the computers. Also we ask you not to touch the monitors with your fingers, pencils, pens etc. It causes fingerprints on the display or even more serious damage. Use the mouse cursor instead!

Cleanliness and lost property

Take all your belongings with you. If you want to store your belongings, use nearby shelves or lockers located in, e.g. the first floor or second floor (CIP2). For Lost and Found, see the secretary (room 02.155-113, opposite to CIP2).

Do not tamper with the hardware

Do not tamper with CIP-Pool equipment (this includes but is not limited to the following):

Charging personal laptops is only allowed using the power sockets marked with „für Laptops” (german for „for laptops”) located near the windows.

No laptops on the wired network

It is okay to have laptops in the CIP-Pool and be on the wireless network, they just can't be physically plugged into our jacks.

Do not install software

Software installation is handled by the admins only. Users are forbidden from installing software into their home-directories or other writeable directories. For practical reasons and since computer science would be somewhat harder without them, there are several exceptions:

Use computers and network moderately and considerately

Please avoid making computers (e.g. through large computations) or the network (e.g. by excessive traffic) unsuable for others. For larger computations please use the HPC capacities available in the university. Refrain from endangering security or stability of the computers or the network.

Printers

The printers' trays are refilled on a regular basis. If one of the printers is empty or is stuck, please inform the administrators. Left behind print-outs are removed every day at 10 pm. You can add funds to your printing account at the secretariat in the second floor of the blue CS-Building (room 02.155-113, opposite to CIP2).

Noise

The CIP-Pools are used for undisturbed work. Please avoid loud conversations and music. If you want to listen to music, headphones are required. Make calls outside. During declared courses in the CIP-Pools the noise level may be higher, however.

Doors

All CIP-Pool doors will be closed and locked at closing and may not be propped or left open at any time. Propping the doors open is a safety and security issue, and may result in the closing of your account.

To gain 24/7 access to the CIP-Pools, see door lock system.

Video surveillance of CIP-Pools

All computer labs are monitored by 24 hour video surveillance. Please be aware of this.

Do not remove tables or chairs

Do not remove furniture (chairs, computers, tables/desks, etc.) from the CIP-Pools. Also, do not rearrange furniture in the CIP-Pools.

Violation of any of the mentioned CIP-Pool rules may result in CIP-Pool privileges being suspended!

wiki/ cipPools/ Regeln im CIP-Pool

Regeln im CIP-Pool

Die Regeln im CIP-Pool sollen euch nicht den Spaß verderben. Da wir eine sehr große Zahl an Studenten haben, die alle unsere Einrichtungen benutzen möchten, brauchen wir Regeln um den reibungslosen Ablauf sicherzustellen. Die Rechner und die Räume sind in erster Linie als Arbeitsmittel zur Erledigung von Übungsaufgaben da, nicht um zwischen Veranstaltungen die Zeit totzuschlagen.

Alle Benutzer haben sich mit Respekt ihren Kommilitonen, Kollegen und der Einrichtung gegenüber zu verhalten. Zusätzlich zu den üblichen Regeln der Universität sind insbesondere folgende Punkte wichtig:

Kein Essen und keine Getränke

Essen und Trinken ist in den CIP-Pools nicht erlaubt um Tastaturen, Mäuse und Tische so sauber wie möglich zu halten und um Schäden zu verhindern. Ausnahme: Wasser.

Wasche deine Hände und berühre keine Bildschirmoberflächen

Aus hygienischen Gründen und um die Tastaturen und Mäuse sauberzuhalten bitten wir dich, deine Hände vor der Arbeit an den Rechnern zu waschen. Monitore dürfen nicht mit den Fingern, Stiften oder Ähnlichem berührt werden. Dies würde Fingerabdrücke oder sogar Beschädigungen des Bildschirms zur Folge haben. Benutze den Mauscursor zum Zeigen!

Sauberkeit und Fundsachen

Nimm alle deine Sachen wieder mit. Wenn du dein Eigentum vorübergehend lagern möchtest benutze die zur Verfügung stehenden Regale und Schließfächer, z.B. im ersten und zweiten Stock (CIP2). Für Fundsachen wende dich an das Sekretariat (Zimmer 02.155-113, gegenüber dem CIP2).

Keine unbefugten Änderungen an der Hardware

Nimm keine unbefugten Änderungen an der Einrichtung des CIP-Pools vor (dies umfasst unter Anderem):

Das Aufladen eigener Laptops ist nur an den Steckdosen erlaubt, die mit „für Laptops” markiert sind oder sich entlang der Fenster befinden.

Keine Laptops am verkabelten Netzwerk

Es ist erlaubt einen Laptop im CIP-Pool zu verwenden und das drahtlose Netzwerk zu benutzen, er darf nur nicht in eine unserer Netzwerkdosen eingesteckt werden.

Installiere keine Software

Installation von Software ist Sache der Admins. Benutzern ist es verboten, Software in ihre Home- oder andere schreibbare Verzeichnisse zu installieren. Aus praktischen Gründen und weil Informatik etwas kompliziert würde ohne, gibt es folgende Ausnahmen:

Nutze Rechner und Netzwerk massvoll und rücksichtsvoll

Bitte vermeide es, Rechner für andere durch übermäßige Berechnungen oder das Netzwerk durch starke Nutzung unbrauchbar zu machen. Für große Berechnungen nutze die in der Uni vorhandenen HPC-Kapazitäten. Unterlasse, was die Sicherheit oder Stabilität der Rechner oder des Netzwerks gefährdet.

Drucker

Die Papierschächte der Drucker werden regelmäßig nachgefüllt. Sollte einer der Drucker leer sein oder hängen, informiere bitte die Admins. Nicht abgeholte Ausdrucke können täglich ab 22:00 Uhr entsorgt werden. Du kannst dein Druckerkonto im Sekretariat im zweiten Stock des blauen Informatik-Hochhauses (Raum 02.155-113, gegenüber dem CIP2) aufladen.

Lärm

Die CIP-Pools sind zum ungestörten Arbeiten gedacht. Bitte vermeide laute Gespräche und Musik. Wenn du Musik hören möchtest, benutze Kopfhörer. Telefoniere nur draußen. Während der planmäßigen Übungen wird es natürlich etwas lauter zugehen.

Türen

Alle CIP-Pools werden außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten geschlossen und abgesperrt und dürfen nicht offengehalten werden. Die Türen offenzuhalten ist ein Sicherheitsproblem und führt zum Entzug der Zugangsberechtigung.

Um einen jederzeitigen Zugang zu den CIP-Pools auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten zu erhalten, siehe Türschließsystem.

Videoüberwachung der CIP-Pools

Alle Rechnerräume werden jederzeit mit Aufzeichnung videoüberwacht.

Entferne keine Tische oder Stühle aus den Räumen

Entferne keine Einrichtung (Stühle, Rechner, Tische, etc.) aus den CIP-Pools. Außerdem dürfen die Möbel im CIP-Pool nicht umgestellt werden.

Verletzung einer der genannten Regeln des CIP-Pool kann zum Entzug des Zugangs zum CIP-Pool führen!